Looking for a trader that has passed a Which? assessment?

Visit Which? Trusted Traders to find local traders who have been checked and assessed by our trading standards professionals.

Which? Local Business of the Year: the winners

The Which? Awards were launched in 2007 to celebrate and reward the very best local businesses in the UK. We choose a business or individual every year to win the coveted Which? Local Business of the Year award.

Which? Local Business of the Year award

The Business of the Year award champions the best local businesses who go that extra mile for their customers through their product offering or service.

It puts outstanding small businesses on the same stage as well known high street names and supports independent traders who play a big part in local communities.

Business of the Year winners

2013: The Hampstead & Highgate Plumbing & Heating Company

The Hampstead & Highgate Heating & Plumbing Company has received over 50 recommendations from Which? members.

Central heating engineer and proprietor Che Richard Meek collected his award from host Natasha Kaplinsky and Which? chief executive Peter Vicary-Smith. Che took over the family business from his father and thanked his parents, who were in the audience, as he accepted the trophy.

2012: Advanced Clean

Advanced Clean's John Kilkenny

Proprietor John Kilkenny with Natasha Kaplinski

Advanced Clean director John Kilkenny learned he had won the 2012 when he was invited onto the stage to collect his award from Which? chief executive Peter Vicary-Smith and broadcaster Natasha Kaplinsky.

John said: "Four weeks ago, I was busy cleaning carpets when I found out that I had been shortlisted and today I've shared the same stage as lots of big businesses. I'm overwhelmed, but I enjoyed every minute of it."

2011: Mand Made

Award winner Mandy Reynolds from Mand Made

Electrician Mandy Reynolds

Which? Local users praised Mandy Reynolds' friendly, reliable and thorough service.

Mandy collected her award from broadcaster Natasha Kaplinsky at the Which? Awards ceremony in 2011

Mandy said: "I'm just so thrilled to have won. It's so unexpected. It means so much that my customers have taken the time to go online and write a review for me. The things they've said are really touching."

2010: SMD Electrical Ltd

Award winner SMD Electrical

Steve Daws and broadcaster Kirsty Young

In 2010 Surrey's Steve Daws fought off stiff competition to win the prestigious award.

Even before the winner was announced, Steve was humbled to have been at the ceremony. He said: "I just try to do the best job I can. To actually get a phone call from Which? to say people recommended you and we'd like to invite you to the awards is just fantastic."

As Steve collected his award, he described it as "a very proud day."

2009: Joseph Morris Butchers Ltd

Joseph Morris Butchers

The staff at Joseph Morris Butchers

In 2009 Joseph Morris Butchers were up against many strong contenders, from department stores to greengrocers, but ultimately came out on top.

Which? Local's Pete Tynan said: "With almost 80 years in business, Joseph Morris is an excellent example of a provider of high quality local produce and outstanding customer service."